This is the "Home" page of the "Social Media" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Resources for Mr. Wood's 21st Century class project.
Last Updated: May 9, 2016 URL: http://montereypl.libguides.com/SocialMediaWoods Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Project!

Here's your assignment!

Just in case you dropped your copy ;)

 

Books and E-Books on Social Media!

Whaaa. . . the LIBRARY's got BOOKS about NEW stuff?!?

 

Cover Art
Building Social Web Applications - Gavin Bell
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781449391720
Publication Date: 2009-09-17
Building a social application -- Analyzing, creating, and managing community relationships --Planning your initial site -- Creating a visual impact -- Working with and consuming media -- Managing change -- Designing for people -- Relationships, responsibilities, and privacy -- Community structures, software, and behavior -- Social network patterns -- Modeling data and relationships -- Managing identities -- Organizing your site for navigation, search, and activity -- Making connections -- Managing communities -- Writing the application -- Building APIs, integration, and the rest of the web -- Launching, marketing, and evolving social applications.

Cover Art
Cognitive Surplus - Clay Shirky
Call Number: 303.4833/SHI
ISBN: 9781594202537
Publication Date: 2010-06-10
The author of the breakout hit "Here Comes Everybody" reveals how new technology is changing us from consumers to collaborators, unleashing a torrent of creative production that will transform our world

Cover Art
The Social Organization - Anthony J. Bradley; Mark P. McDonald
Call Number: 658.872/BRA
ISBN: 9781422172360
Publication Date: 2011-10-18
Introduction: the promise of social organizations -- Mass collaboration : the heart of the matter -- Becoming a social organization -- Forming a vision for community collaboration -- A strategic approach to community collaboration -- Refining purpose with purpose roadmaps -- Launching the community -- Guiding from the middle -- Guiding the community's purpose -- Adapting the organization -- The path to becoming a social organization

Cover Art
Your Network Is Your Net Worth - Porter Gale; Guy Kawasaki (Foreword by)
Call Number: 302.30285/GAL
ISBN: 9781451688757
Publication Date: 2013-06-04
Part I: Develop a transforamtional attitude -- Part II: Build a values-based team -- Part III: Cultivate fields of creativity

Cover Art
The Zen of Social Media Marketing - Shama Hyder Kabani; Chris Brogan (Foreword by)
Call Number: 658.872/KAB
ISBN: 9781935251736
Publication Date: 2010-04-06
Online marketing basics -- Websites, blogs, and SEO -- Social media marketing : what you need to know before you start -- Facebook -- Twitter -- LinkedIn -- Video : the next frontier -- Creating a social media policy for your organization -- A final word on social media : tools for attracting even more business -- Burning questions and answers : taking questions and dishing out answers and advice -- Social media marketing case studies : regular folks, great stories

Search E-Book Catalog

Search for E-Books

 

 

(You will need a library card to gain access to these books.)

Search Catalogs

Search the Library Catalog for Yourself!

                   (Click on image)

 

      
     

    Social Media

    What Is Social Media?

    Forms of electronic communication (as Web sites for social networking and microblogging) through which users create online communities to share information, ideas, personal messages, and other content (as videos)

    (Merriam-Webster Dictionary Online. 2014. <http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/social media>.)

     

     

    How to Evaluate a Web Site

    Search Google Scholar

     

    Kids Who Got Rich Off Social Media Projects!

     

    Why You Shouldn't Eat in the Library

    We all get on you about this.  We don't want you snacking out, but we never really told you why, because these guys are going to tell you for us!

     

    Library Events

    See all the Library events here. For events for specific audiences, click on view website below.

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
     

    Link to the Library

    Visit the Library's Link to Us page to add links to your teacher web site or your school's web site

     

    Vote

    Where did you find the sources you ended up using for your project?






    Teen Librarian

    Profile Image
    Eboni Harris
    Contact Info
    Monterey Public Library
    625 Pacific Street
    Monterey, CA 93940
    (831)-646-3393
    Send Email

    Databases

    Um... what's a database?

    A database is: a usually large collection of data organized especially for rapid search and retrieval (as by a computer)(Merriam-Webster Dictionary Online. 2014. <http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/database>.)

    Here are some great ones to use.

    (You must have a valid library card to access databases.)

        

      Writing Your Paper

      Links to MLA resources

       

         

        Owl Purdue

       

       

      Citing Your Sources

      What's citing?  Well, citing is what you do so that you don't get in trouble when you borrow information from other people.  There are many different ways to cite, but I'm going to make it a little easier on you.  Below, find a link to a great citation generator by clicking on the image.

       

      Write and Cite

      Internet Public Library

      The Internet Public Libary Teenspace provides a complete guide on research and writing

       

      Homework Help

      Homework Help

      Live tutors can help you from 3-10 p.m. daily with homework. Plus you can study for the SATs and other standardized tests, get help with your writing, and more!

       

      World Catalog

      Search the World Catalog!

      (Just because Monterey Public Library doesn't have it, doesn't mean nobody does! See what titles other libraries have, and how close these libraries are to you!)

       

      (Click on Image)

      Mailing Address
      625 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

      Phone
      Library Help Desk - (831) 646-3933
      Automated Phone Renewals - (831) 646-5681
      Hours
      Mon - Tue - Wed
      12 p.m. - 8 p.m.
      Thu - Fri - Sat
      10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
      Sun
      1 p.m. - 5 p.m.

      Copyright 2016 by City of Monterey Public Library  |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use