This is the "Educator Resources" page of the "Middle and High School Teacher Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Middle and High School Teacher Resources   Tags: educators, students, teachers  

Information and resources for educators
Last Updated: Mar 12, 2014 URL: http://montereypl.libguides.com/teachers Print Guide RSS Updates
Educator Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Educator Resources

(Courtesy of James Sarmiento)

 

Write and Cite

Internet Public Library

The Internet Public Libary Teenspace provides a complete guide on research and writing

 

Recommend a Purchase

Hear about a great book for educators? Or just want the latest bestseller? Recommend a purchase for the Library and you can get it first!

 

Are Students Asking you What to Read?

Young Adult Library Services Association

Wow your students with the best in young adult literature

Bulletin Board

Know of a great resource for educators? Share the link below!

 

Add the Library to Your Curriculum

Assignment Alerts
Are your students working on a big assignment, project or research paper? Tell us about it by filling out our Assignment Alert form! When time allows, we will bundle together suggested books, websites and databases that will give your students a place to start their research.

Group Visits
Want to schedule a library visit for your classroom? Simply fill out our Group Visit form.

Guides for Your Classes
We've worked with your colleagues to put together guides just like this one, specifically for their assignments! If you're assigning a research project, contact us and we can tailor a subject guide just for you.

 

Databases

All of these resources are free to access with your Library Card. Ask us to demo one for your class today!

Monterey Public Library Database Collection
Browse through all of our available databases.

Homework Help Now!
This program provides instant help for struggling students from 3-10 p.m. daily. All ages can get subject and grade-specific help with a personal online tutor. Try it yourself!
New features include a writing lab, live skills building, and practice standardized tests.

Opposing Viewpoints
Perfect for opinion essays, mock trials, debate, and current events. Articles from both sides of many issues.

Student Resource Center
Variety of information on a broad range of subjects for students. also a great place to find Curriculum Standards and Topic Trees for a particular instructional unit.

World Book Online Your classroom encyclopedia and much more.
 

Library Video

 

Library Events

See all the Library events here. For events for specific audiences, click on view website below.

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Contact Us

Profile Image
Reference Services
Contact Info
(831) 646-3933
Send Email
 

Check These Out

Cover Art
Teaching Teens with ADD and ADHD - Chris Zeigler Dendy
Teaching Teens with ADD and ADHD contains concise summaries of over fifty key issues related to attention deficit disorders and school success. From understanding the basics of ADD to using effective interventions, everything a teacher needs to know is included in this book.

Cover Art
Teacher Man - Frank McCourt
The author describes his coming of age as a teacher, storyteller, and writer, a personal journey during which he spent fifteen years finding his voice in the classroom, and came to terms with the undervalued importance of teaching.

Cover Art
Letters to a Young Teacher - Jonathan Kozol
In the form of a series of affectionate letters to a first grade teacher at an inner-city school, educator Kozol vividly describes his repeated visits to her classroom while, under her irreverent questioning, he also reveals his own personal stories of the years that he has spent in public schools.

Cover Art
Setting Limits in the Classroom - Robert MacKenzie
An updated guide to discipline for the classroom explains how teachers and school adminstrators can set clear limits and firm guidelines for students, offering suggestions on how to create a working strugcture, motivate students, establish a climate of cooperation and respect, end power struggles, and more.

Cover Art
The Path to Purpose - William Damon
Drawing on the revelatory results of a landmark study, William Damon -- one of the country's leading writers on the lives of young people, whose book Greater Expectations won the Parents' Choice Award -- brilliantly investigates the most pressing issue in the lives of youth today: why so many young people are "failing to launch" -- living at home longer, lacking career motivation, struggling to make a timely transition into adulthood, and not yet finding a life pursuit that inspires them.

 
  Monterey Public Library
A Department of the City of Monterey
City Seal
Mailing Address
625 Pacific Street Monterey, CA 93940
Get directions

Phone
General Information - (831) 646-3932
FAX - (831) 646-5618
Staff phone and e-mail directory
Hours
Mon - Tue - Wed
12 p.m. - 8 p.m.
Thu - Fri - Sat
10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Sun
1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Visit Us... Visit us on Facebook  Visit us on YouTube  Visit us on Flickr
Click here to signup for any of the City of Monterey's e-newsletters

 

© 2013 City of Monterey | Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use