This is the "Home" page of the "Cancer and Cellular Degeneration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A subject guide designed for Mr. Espinosa's 21st Century Skills Seminar's research project.
Last Updated: Nov 9, 2015 URL: http://montereypl.libguides.com/espinosa Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Your Assignment

Need a copy of your assignment?  Click the link below.

 

Suggested Databases

Here are some databases that have a lot of information and articles about your topics.  You can access these databases outside of the library by clicking on the links below and entering in your library card numbers and passwords.  


Search Catalogs

Search the Library Catalog for Yourself!

                   (Click on image)

 

      

    Search E-Book Catalog

    Search for E-Books

     

     

    (You will need a library card to gain access to these books.)

     

    Cancer and Cellular Degeneration

    Welcome to Mr. Espinosa's Lib Guide.  Here you'll find research tools to aide you with your projects.  

    Watch the video below to see how cancer cells form and what may cause them.  Learn more at the CancerQuest website: http://www.cancerquest.org/.

    Helpful Websites

    • Mayo Clinic
      More than 3,300 physicians, scientists and researchers from Mayo Clinic share their expertise to empower you.
    • Medline Plus
      MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. (Produced by the National Library of Medicine.)
    • US National Library of Medicine
      Search biomedical literature, find medical terminologies, search NLM collections, read about diseases, learn about drugs, explore history, find a clinical trial, use a medical dictionary; find free full-text articles.
    • National Institute of Health
      The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services External Web Site Policy , is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
    • National Cancer Institute
      NCI’s main responsibilities include coordinating the National Cancer Program; conducting and supporting cancer research; training physicians and scientists; and disseminating information about cancer detection, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, control, palliative care, and survivorship.
    • US Department of Health and Human Services
      The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the U.S. government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.
    • CancerQuest
      The Cancer Biology portion of the site contains in-depth information about the structure and function of normal cells and cancer cells. The changes that make normal cells turn into cancer cells are described.
     

    How to Evaluate a Web Site

     

    Suggested Books

    Cover Art
    The Emperor of All Maladies - Siddhartha Mukherjee
    Call Number: 616.994/MUK
    ISBN: 9781439107959
    Publication Date: 2010-11-16

    Cover Art
    On the Cancer Frontier - Paul Marks; James Sterngold
    Call Number: 616.99/MAR
    ISBN: 9781610392525
    Publication Date: 2014-03-11

    Cover Art
    The Cancer Chronicles - George Johnson
    Call Number: 616.994/JOH
    ISBN: 9780307595140
    Publication Date: 2013-08-27

    Cover Art
    Racing to a Cure - Neil Ruzic
    Call Number: 362.1/RUZ
    ISBN: 9780252028670
    Publication Date: 2003-08-18

    Cover Art
    One Renegade Cell - Robert A. Weinberg
    Call Number: 616.99/WEI
    ISBN: 9780465072767
    Publication Date: 1999-10-08

    Search Google Scholar

    Contact Librarian

    Profile Image
    Eboni Harris
    Contact Info
    Monterey Public Library
    625 Pacific Street
    Monterey, CA 93940
    (831)-646-3933
    Send Email
     

    APA Citation

    APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences.

    Check the APA Manual out in the library. (Click image.)


    Need some APA tips and don't feel like flipping through the handbook? Check out the Owl Purdue site.  (Click image.)

    Want a quick fix?  Here's a great citation generator.  Plug in your information and you're good to go! (Click image.)

     

    Write and Cite

    Internet Public Library

    The Internet Public Libary Teenspace provides a complete guide on research and writing

     

    Homework Help

    Homework Help

    Live tutors can help you from 3-10 p.m. daily with homework. Plus you can study for the SATs and other standardized tests, get help with your writing, and more!

     

    Vote

    Where did you find the sources you ended up using for your project?






     

    Library Events

    See all the Library events here. For events for specific audiences, click on view website below.

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
     

    Link to the Library

    Visit the Library's Link to Us page to add links to your teacher web site or your school's web site

    Mailing Address
    625 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

    Phone
    Library Help Desk - (831) 646-3933
    Automated Phone Renewals - (831) 646-5681
    Hours
    Mon - Tue - Wed
    12 p.m. - 8 p.m.
    Thu - Fri - Sat
    10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
    Sun
    1 p.m. - 5 p.m.

    Copyright 2016 by City of Monterey Public Library  |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use