Resources and information on homelessness.
Last Updated: Mar 16, 2017
- Community Human Services--Safe Place
Provides safe Place, program for runaway and homeless youth. Services addressing mental illness, substance addiction, and homelessness. 24 hour access to temporary shelter. Services free. (831) 373-4421. Teen crisis line: (831) 241-0914.
- Franciscian Workers--Women Alive!
Offers no questions asked emergency walk-in shelter for street women. Homeless women may enter from 7-8:30 every night and can stay until 6:30 a.m. the next morning. Capacity 16 beds per night. (No children). (831) 757-3838. Administration: (831) 424-1102.
- I HELP
Offers shelter, meals and support for homeless men seven nights a week at various local churches. (831) 601-4564 firstname.lastname@example.org
- Interim, Inc--MCHOME
Provides mobile outreach, supportive housing, and intensive services to homeless adults with mental illness in Monterey County. (831) 883-3030.
- Pajaro Rescue Mission
Provides shelter for 35 homeless men in dorms. (831) 722-2074.
- Salvation Army--Fredricksen House
Provides emergency shelter for men and women with children. 90 day limit and waiting list. Will assist individuals with emergency rental assistance if funds are available. (831) 899.4911.
- Shelter Outreach Plus--Salinas Shelter
Provides 24-hour 32 bed emergency shelter for battered and or homeless women and their children. Access to case management, support groups, stocked and functional kitchen, donated clothing, and bilingual staff. (831) 422-2201.
- Seaside Women's Shelter
Provides women and children with access to food, clothing, assistance in finding employment, assistance in securing childcare, and case management. (831) 394-8372.
- United Way 2-1-1
Offers information and referral for community services in Monterey County. (831) 372-8026.
- Victory Mission
Provides shelter, food, showers, and clothing. Provides overnight shelter to homeless males 18yrs or older. (831) 424-5688.
- YMCA--Lawson Safehouse
Ensures safety for female victims of domestic violence, partner abuse, and their children. Domestic Violence Crisis Line (24 hr) (Confidential Safe House). (831) 372-6300 Crisis Line. (831) 757-1001 Crisis Line.
- Shelter Listings--United States
Consists of over 3,000 listings and includes emergency shelters, homeless shelters, day shelters, transitional housing, residential drug/alcohol rehabilitation programs and permanent affordable housing nationwide.
Helps with food, housing, employment, health care, counseling and more. (877) 211-3233.
- Gathering for Women
Gathering for Women is a refuge for homeless women on the Monterey Peninsula.
- The Fund for Homeless Women
The Fund for Homeless Women is a field of interest fund of the Community Foundation for Monterey County (CFMC) established to support programs and services for homeless women in Monterey County.
- United Way Monterey County
Partners with local nonprofits, businesses, government and social service agencies to address the community's most pressing needs. (831) 372-8026.
- The Monterey County Department of Social & Employment Services
Administers over seventy programs that daily serve an estimated 100,000 residents of Monterey County. General information: (831) 755-4448.
- Youth Crisis Line
California Coalition for Youth offers support, encouragement, and referrals to youth needing assistance in crisis situations. Call (800) 843-5200 if you need help.
- One-Stop Career Centers of Monterey County
Helps in selecting a new career, finding jobs, and locating suitable training and job search assistance.
- California Homeless Shelters, Food Pantries, and more
Our purpose is to help supply individuals and families with personal needs such as food, toiletries, clothing, household items, furniture and baby/adult diapers/wipes both locally and to areas effected by disasters.
- Help for Homeless Youth and Higher Education
Many resources and programs are available to make higher education attainable for students who need help.
- Intermin, Inc. Housing, Healing, Hope
Our mission is to provide services and affordable housing supporting members of our community with mental illness in building productive and satisfying lives.
- Facts and Policy on Homelessness on National Level
Ensures that the national homelessness policy accurately reflects the needs and experiences of local communities.
- National Alliance to End Homelessness
Mobilizes the nonprofit, public and private sectors of society in an alliance to end homelessness.
- National Center on Family Homelessness
Updates a previous State Report Card on Child Homelessness.
- National Center for Homeless Education
Provides research, resources, and information enabling communities to address the educational needs of children and youth experiencing homelessness.
- National Coalition for the Homeless
Brings about the systemic changes necessary to prevent and end homelessness and to protect the rights of people experiencing homelessness by engaging in policy advocacy.
- National Council for Homeless Veterans
Provides emergency and supportive housing, food, health services, job training and placement assistance, legal aid and case management support for hundreds of thousands of homeless veterans each year.
- National Health Care for the Homeless Council
Includes thousands of providers and consumers of health care targeted to people without homes, working together to end homelessness by improving health care access and quality.
- National Law Center on Homelessness and Poverty
Prevents and ends homelessness by serving as the legal arm of the nationwide movement to end homelessness.
- U.S. Council on Homelessness
Coordinates the federal response to homelessness and creates a national partnership at every level of government and with the private sector to reduce and end homelessness in the nation while maximizing the effectiveness of the Federal Government in contributing to the end of homelessness.
- U.S. Department of Labor
Focuses on helping homeless Americans who want to work or can become job-ready.
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Protects the health of all Americans and supports the delivery of essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.
- U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Developemnt
Provides a range of assistance for the homeless.
- U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Helps homeless veterans.
- U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
Helps prioritize, clarify, and refine efforts to improve coordination across agencies, and improve the efficiency and effectiveness of federal homelessness programs.
- U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness
Compels communities to focus their resources on solutions that work, while encouraging well-designed innovations for continuous improvement, commitmented to end homelessness.
- U.S. Social Security Administration
Funds programs to prevent and end homelessness.