This is the "Home" page of the "Legal Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal Resources  

Find laws, legal forms, lawyers, and more
Last Updated: Apr 3, 2016 URL: http://montereypl.libguides.com/legal Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Directories

Find a lawyer by name or topic
  • Martindale Hubbell
    Search the profiles of more than one million legal professionals worldwide.
  • FindLaw
    Search for laywers and firms across the United States by name or by topic.
  • State Bar Attorney Search
    Search for a California attorney using either the person's name or bar number.

Free Legal Forms

  • California forms
    Browse all forms provided by the State of California.
  • Legal Paperwork Assistance
    Legal forms for family law, small claims, evictions, guardianships, child support, and probate / mental health.
  • Legal Information Reference Center
    Legal forms on accident claims, bankruptcy, house buying, divorce, getting a green card, human resources, living trusts, patents, personal injury, rental agreements, selling a house, and wills.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Legal Research

  • Law Help California
    Legal self-help information in nearly all major areas of law, except criminal defense. Provides referrals to legal aid programs, lawyers, and court services.
  • FindLaw Legal Directories
    Includes directories of legal information and a community where you can ask questions.
  • Freedom of Information Act
    The Freedom of Information Act is a law that allows the general public to request information from any government agency.

Native American Legal Resources

Databases

  • Legal Information Reference Center
    Contains hundreds of full-text publications on business, family & divorce, immigration & travel, money & financial planning, patents, copyrights & trademarks, real estate, rights and disputes, and wills & estate planning.

Business Law

Laws, Codes, and Ordinances

Search the laws for our city, county, the state or federal government.

Photo of the California State Capital taken by Pete Bobb

Legal Self-Help Sites

Picture created by Ave Maria Mõistlik

 

Wills & Trusts Video

Personal Law

  • Wills, trusts, and estates
    Information on wills, estate planning, and living trusts.
  • Divorce or Seperation
    Legal information on how to end a marriage in California.
  • Department of Consumer Affairs
    Includes information for legal issues with contractors, contracts, credit cards, electronic fund transfers, finances, health clubs, consumer laws, motor vehicle laws, privacy and identity theft, promotional giveaways, retail, and tenant / landlord relations.
  • How to get a Green Card
    Information from the Department of Homeland Security on how to get a Green Card for people immigrating to the United States.

Legal Resources for Children

Legal Resources for Seniors

  • Social Security Administration
    Anyone can look up one's social security information here.
  • Medicare
    Health insurance for seniors is provided by Medicare.
  • Adult Protective Services
    California Adult Protective Services Agency for helping adults ages 65 and older, or dependent adults ages 18 - 65, when they are unable to take care of themselves or are being abused, neglected, or exploited.
  • Senior Legal Hotline
    Senior Legal Hotline, based in Sacramento, provides legal advice to seniors in California.

Contact Us

Profile Image
Reference Services
Contact Info
(831) 646-3933
Send Email
 

Featured Titles

Cover Art
Your rights in the workplace - Dan Laces
Call Number: 344.73/YOU
ISBN: 1413306438
Everything from hiring and getting paid to privacy and firing.

Cover Art
Nolo's guide to California law
Call Number: 349.79/NOL
ISBN: 1413313949
Quick clear answers to everyday questions.

Cover Art
Legal Guide for Starting and Running a Small Business - Fred S. Steingold
Call Number: 346.7307/LEG
ISBN: 1413317391
Publication Date: 2013-04-30

Teen Legal Resources

Mailing Address
625 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Phone
Library Help Desk - (831) 646-3933
Automated Phone Renewals - (831) 646-5681
Hours
Mon - Tue - Wed
12 p.m. - 8 p.m.
Thu - Fri - Sat
10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Sun
1 p.m. - 5 p.m.

Copyright 2016 by City of Monterey Public Library  |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use