This is the "Home" page of the "News Sources for Everyone" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

News Sources for Everyone   Tags: archives, news, research  

A guide to finding news on the web. Includes web-only news outlets as well as print/web news sources.
Last Updated: Oct 16, 2012 URL: http://montereypl.libguides.com/news Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find News at the Library and Online

Ask a Librarian These days news is found everywhere, from traditional print newspapers, to online news services, blogs, e-mail alerts, and even social networks like Facebook and Twitter. Luckily, your Library is here to help make the best use of the abundance of news resources available to you. As always, please ask a librarian if you would like further help.

 

News Sources in the Library

InfoTrac Custom Newspapers Database
50 million complete articles from hundreds of newspapers includingThe New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Seattle Times, Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service, Australian, Financial Times, Guardian, and Times of London.

Newsbank - Monterey County Herald
Coverage of Herald articles back to 2002 in full text. For Herald articles prior to 2002, contact the reference desk or visit the library to use our archives on microfilm.

 

News Archives & Historical Newspaper Collections

New York Times -
Options for locating articles from 1851 onward

  • New York Times Archive Search - Includes complete articles in pdf format for the years 1851-1922, index to articles from 1923-1986, and full text of articles since 1987. Paid subscribers can also access full text of articles from 1923-1986.
  • InfoTrac Custom Newspapers - Includes full text of articles from 1985 - present.
  • At the Monterey Public Library - We have the previous 3 months of the New York Times in print, as well as many years between 1854 and 2004 on microfilm (full list of our holdings). Ask a librarian to help you locate articles on microfilm.

Monterey County Herald - Partial Obituary Index
Index to obituaries back to 1995 as well as articles from 1995-2003
Monterey County Herald - Archive Search
Index of articles back to 2002

List of Newspaper Archives available online - Wikipedia
Shows what is available for free, and what you have to pay for
National Endowment for the Humanities - United States Newspaper Program
Government funded project to preserve historical newspapers in communities across the country
Library of Congress - Chronicling America
View newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers from 1690 to the present.

 

Google News

 

Discover News Sources on the Web

These tools will help you search and discover news stories online

ABYZ News Links
This tool will help you discover print, web, and broadcast news sources for any particular country

Technorati - Blog Directory
Discover blogs that report the news on a nearly-endless variety of topics

Alternative Press Center - Directory
Browse hundreds of alternative periodicals alphabetically or by subject

Google News
News from Google. Enter your zip code for local news, or create an account to have personalized content available based on your preferences
IPL2's Newspapers & Magazines
Visit the web sites of major news outlets from every state and nearly every country in the world
Google News Timeline
You can view news stories visually, on a zoomable, graphic timeline
News & Newspapers Online - From UNC Greensboro
An academic library's guide to news sources online from around the world
NewsSift
Pick a person, place, organization, or other topic and find recent news about it. Then, see how frequently that term is found with other words, whether the stories are positive or negative, and what news sources are contributing the most articles

Newseum - Today's Front Pages
View the front pages of 800 newspapers from 75 countries. Search, browse by location, or discover a newspaper from an interactive map of each continent

TweetNews
Search for breaking news receiving buzz on Twitter with this site that combines tweets with Yahoo! news search

SOCIAL MEDIA CENTRAL
Visit us...
Facebook  YouTube  Flickr
City seal City of Monterey
GENERAL CONTACT INFO
Mailing Address
625 Pacific Street Monterey, CA 93940
Get directions
Phone
General Information - 831.646.3932
FAX - 831.646.5618
Staff phone and e-mail directory
HOURS
Monday - Tuesday - Wednesday 12 p.m. - 8 p.m.
Thursday - Friday - Saturday 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Sunday Closed
Holiday schedule
Bookmobile schedule

Click to subscribe to the "Library IDEA" or to other City of Monterey e-newsletters
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip