This is the "Home" page of the "Biotechnology II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biotechnology II  

A resource guide for Mr. Nicholson's Biotechnology II cohort.
Last Updated: Sep 28, 2016 URL: http://montereypl.libguides.com/nicholson2 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Your Assignment

Lose your assignment? Download a copy right here!

 

Suggested Databases

Here are some databases that have a lot of information and articles about your topics.  You can access these databases outside of the library by clicking on the links below and entering in your library card numbers and passwords.  


Search Google Scholar

Search E-Book Catalog

Search for E-Books

 

 

(You will need a library card to gain access to these books.)

 

Homework Help

Homework Help

Live tutors can help you from 3-10 p.m. daily with homework. Plus you can study for the SATs and other standardized tests, get help with your writing, and more!

 

Write and Cite

Internet Public Library

The Internet Public Libary Teenspace provides a complete guide on research and writing

 

Library Events

See all the Library events here. For events for specific audiences, click on view website below.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Welcome to Biotechnology II

Hello, and welcome to your resource tool for the Independent Research Project assigned to you by Mr. Nicholson. On this tool, you will find databases, books, websites, citation guides, and more to help you with your project. The video below is just a quick tip, pick me up or reminder on the scientific method, since you will be conducting your own experiments :).

  

 

Search Library Catalog and Databases

Helpful Websites

Here is a list of some useful websites that have information on the subject of biotechnology.  

  • National Institute of Health
    The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services External Web Site Policy , is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
  • National Center for Biotechnology
    The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
  • US National Library of Medicine
    Search biomedical literature, find medical terminologies, search NLM collections, read about diseases, learn about drugs, explore history, find a clinical trial, use a medical dictionary; find free full-text articles.
  • US Department of Health and Human Services
    The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the U.S. government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.
  • Medline Plus
    MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. (Produced by the National Library of Medicine.)
  • Mayo Clinic
    More than 3,300 physicians, scientists and researchers from Mayo Clinic share their expertise to empower you.
  • Science Daily
    Your source for the latest research news in biotechnology.
 

How to Evaluate Websites

 

APA Citation

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences.

Check the APA Manual out in the library. (Click image.)


Need some APA tips and don't feel like flipping through the handbook? Check out the Owl Purdue site.  (Click image.)

Want a quick fix?  Here's a great citation generator.  Plug in your information and you're good to go! (Click image.)

 

Examples of Research Posters

Want to see some real research posters?  Hear what the TAMU Writing Center staff has to say about good and bad research poster design.  

 

Tips for Good Oral Presentations

 

Latest News in Biotechnology

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Teen Library Links

Library's Teen Page (Click on image below.)

Library's Teen Blog (Click on image below.)

Contact Librarian

Profile Image
Eboni Harris
Contact Info
Monterey Public Library
625 Pacific Street
Monterey, CA 93940
(831)-646-3933
Send Email
 

Books in the Library

Cover Art
Our Posthuman Future - Francis Fukuyama
Call Number: 301/FUK
ISBN: 0374236437
Publication Date: 2002-04-17

Cover Art
Safe Food - Marion Nestle
Call Number: 363.1926/NES
ISBN: 0520232925
Publication Date: 2003-03-25

Cover Art
Genetically Engineered Foods - Martin Teitel; Kimberly A. Wilson; Ralph Nadar (Foreword by)
Call Number: 363.1929/TEI
ISBN: 0892819480
Publication Date: 2001-03-01

Cover Art
Food, Inc - Peter Pringle
Call Number: 363.192/PRI
ISBN: 9780743267632
Publication Date: 2005-02-21

Cover Art
Tomorrow's Table - Pamela C. Ronald; Raoul W. Adamchak
Call Number: 664/RON
ISBN: 9780195301755
Publication Date: 2008-04-18

Cover Art
Tomatoland - Barry Estabrook
Call Number: 635.642/EST
ISBN: 9781449401092
Publication Date: 2011-06-07

Cover Art
Seeds of Deception - Jeffrey M. Smith; Frances Moore Lappé (Foreword by)
Call Number: 664/SMI
ISBN: 9780972966580
Publication Date: 2005-03-01

Search Catalogs

Search the Library Catalog for Yourself!

                   (Click on image)

 

      
     

    Monterey County Science Fair

     

    Link to the Library

    Visit the Library's Link to Us page to add links to your teacher web site or your school's web site

    Mailing Address
    625 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940

    Phone
    Library Help Desk - (831) 646-3933
    Automated Phone Renewals - (831) 646-5681
    Hours
    Mon - Tue - Wed
    12 p.m. - 8 p.m.
    Thu - Fri - Sat
    10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
    Sun
    1 p.m. - 5 p.m.

    Copyright 2016 by City of Monterey Public Library  |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use